BEACHES, FORESTS
OF MULTIPLE FACES

AT THE EDGE OF THE ATLANTIC OCEAN

 

A region rich in discovery and pleasure


At sea, on the coast or inland, the Charente-Maritime offers you many sites of visits.
Whether you are a fan of history or grandiose landscapes, you will be spoiled for choice!
 
Distances:
• Saint-Georges-de-Didonne: 5 km
• Talmont-sur-Gironde: 8,7 km
• Royan: 12 km
• Zoo of la Palmyre: 25 km
• Rochefort: 50 km
• Ile d’Oléron: 50 km
• La Rochelle: 81 km
 
Partner of your holidays, the 5 * Camping Les Loges offers you at the reception all tourist documents to prepare your holidays.
 
 
CULTURE, LEISURE
MAGIC SOUVENIRS

DISCOVER AND TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE QUALITIES OF OUR REGION

 

Caves of Regulus and Matata (Meschers)


The limestone cliffs of Meschers shelter troglodytic dwellings and offer a remarkable view on the Gironde Estuary. Digging by the sea and by man, these cavities are full of history! Wreckers, shipwrecked, brigands, Protestants often found refuge there. Follow the footsteps of their former occupants and their lives at the edge of the estuary through a remarkable reconstruction!
 
More information:
Caves of Regulus: www.ot-meschers.fr/site-troglodytique-les-grottes-de-regulus / +33 (0)5 46 02 55 36
Caves of Matata: www.grottesdematata.com / +33 (0)5 46 02 70 02

 
 
 

The beaches


From Meschers to Saint-Palais-sur-Mer, fine sandy beaches stretch 70 kilometers, from which to choose a small cove or a large conche. Each has its style: secret, wild, urban or lined with a pine forest. These family beaches lean against the waterfronts of the seaside resorts. You can spend the day or take a dip between two activities. Secure and supervised, they welcome beach clubs and sporting events for the pleasure of all. Take advantage of this privileged moment that allows you to communicate with nature, sunbathe and swim!
 
The small +: the sea baths with salt water are very good for the health so do not deprive yourself!
 
In Meschers :
- Plage de l'Arnèche: Accessible by the coastal path, between the beach of Vergnes and the beach of Suzac, a few meters from the campsite.
- Plage des Vergnes: Family beach a few meters from the campsite. In summer, fireworks leave the Crown, a cliff end surrounded by the sea at high tide.
- Plage de Suzac: Beach located in the protection perimeter of the forest of Suzac, which borders it. It is the largest beach of Meschers.
- Plage des Nonnes: The active beach of Meschers! Club for children, sailing club and other nautical activities.
- Conche de Cadet: Hidden, it is accessible by a large staircase. At high tide, the sand is completely covered. Access difficult, even prohibited at certain times of the year. Breathtaking panorama!
 
 

Zoo of la Palmyre


In the heart of the Côte de Beauté and the beaches of Charente-Maritime, a few dunes from Royan, discover one of the most renowned zoological parks in Europe: the Palmyre Zoo. Founded by Claude Caillé in 1966, this unique site now includes more than 1600 animals of 115 different species. Along the shady alleys that wind through 18 hectares of pine forest, observe rare species and learn to know them better. Visit the Zoo of La Palmyre, it is the assurance of a pleasant day in a wild environment exotic.
More information: www.zoo-palmyre.fr / +33 (0)5 46 22 46 06
 

Aquarium


Located near the Old Port of the city, the Aquarium of La Rochelle will make you cross the seas and the oceans to the discovery of more than 12 000 marine animals distributed in the 3 millions liters of sea water of the 78 aquariums . With an area of 8,445 m², the Aquarium de la Rochelle is one of the largest in Europe. From shrimp to sharks, admire the incredible variety of underwater fauna and flora. It all begins with a dark tunnel, abyss filled with jellyfish, and then native species in the Rochelaise region: shrimps, anemones, bars, sharks and turtles. The journey continues and takes us to the four corners of the globe, from the Mediterranean Sea to the Caribbean Sea, from the Atlantic Ocean to the Red Sea ...
More information: www.aquarium-larochelle.com / +33 (0)5 46 34 00 00
 

Luna Park


Adrenaline, sensations, and strong emotions are all promises that make the queues of the numerous rides of the Luna Park of La Palmyre lengthen. These monsters of technology have become in a few years the kings of fairgrounds for lovers of great thrills.
In a gourmet atmosphere swept by the smells of marshmallows, pralines, cotton candies and other sweet sweets, the little ones and the families will appreciate the quieter rides
More information: www.lunapark-lapalmyre.com
 
 
 
 

Royan

A seaside resort open to the Gironde estuary and the ocean, Royan is a renowned holiday resort, since the 19th century, for its beaches of fine sand and its generous sunshine. Royan has many assets, in particular the quality and variety of its architecture with its Belle Epoque villas and its urbanism of the 50s, unique in Europe. Royan is a lively resort, with a range of sports and cultural activities for all generations, a thalassotherapy institute and a casino that will make you spend pleasant moments of relaxation, as well as numerous events throughout the year.
More information: Royan Tourist Office: www.royan-tourisme.com / +33(0)5 46 23 00 00
 

Talmont

The medieval city of Talmont-sur-Gironde stands out on a small peninsula of a rocky peak. Just after the cliffs of Meschers, located on the road to Santiago de Compostela, Talmont was one of the places of passage of the pilgrims for the crossing of the Gironde. The church of Sainte-Radegonde, built in 1094, remains impressive overlooking the Estuary, on a cliff side. The city hides many other curiosities, between small streets and alleys colored with its hollyhocks that contrast with the whiteness of the dwellings.
More information: Talmont Tourist Office: www.talmont-sur-gironde.fr/office-de-tourisme / +33 (0)5 46 90 16 25
 

Cordouan Lighthouse

Built at the mouth of the estuary of the Gironde, at 7 km at sea, the Lighthouse of Cordouan, King of lighthouses, lighthouse of the Kings, is equidistant from the coasts Gironde and Charentais. It is the oldest of the French lighthouses still in operation. Classified as a historic monument since 1862, its grandiose architecture, resulting from a long and tormented history, has made Cordouan the "Versailles de la mer", a lighthouse unique in the world whose visit can only arouse your wonder.
More information: www.phare-de-cordouan.fr
 

Fort Boyard

Located halfway between the islands of Aix and Oléron, Fort-Boyard was designed primarily to protect the harbor of the island of Aix and the royal arsenal of Rochefort. Beginning in 1804, the construction of the Fort lasted more than 40 years. At the end of the Second Empire, it became a military prison and then abandoned at the beginning of the 20th century, prey to the plunderers. In 1950, he was enrolled in the Supplementary Inventory of Historical Monuments. Acquired first by a private individual, it finally becomes the property of the General Council of Charente-Maritime. Entirely restored, it regains its splendor before being the setting of a well-known game show.
 
LThe Fort Boyard is not accessible to the public, enjoy a wide range of cruises departing from the island of Oléron (Port of Saint-Denis d'Oléron or Boyardville) to get you closer to this majestic ship Stone. You will also be able to admire the lighthouse of Chassiron or stop over on the island of Aix.
More information: Tourist Office of the Ile d'Oléron and the Bassin de Marennes: www.ile-oleron-marennes.com / +33(0)5 46 85 65 23
 
 

La Rochelle and its towers

A town full of history, La Rochelle impresses with its two medieval towers which guard the entrance to the port. For 1000 years, La Rochelle "the rebel" liked the difference: Democrat long before the time, she is Protestant when the whole of France is Catholic; It is protected from kings when the country bends under the weight of taxes ... .. Throughout history, it displays its difference. Today, it remains a place of pilgrimage for many tourists.
More information: La Rochelle Tourist Office: www.larochelle-tourisme.com / +33 (0)5 46 41 14 68
 

Rochefort

Town of Art and History, Rochefort presents a maritime heritage unique in the world with the Corderie Royale, the Chantier de l'Hermione, the Formes de Radoubs, the Old School of Naval Medicine and the Hospital of the Navy or The Garden of Returns. The National Maritime Museum, located in the Mansion of Cheusses, allows the visitor to grasp all this maritime history. Above the Charente, between Rochefort and Echillais, stands the very last Bridge Transbordeur de France.
More information: Rochefort Tourist Office: www.rochefort-ocean.com / +33 (0)5 46 99 08 60
 

The Corderie Royale

A magnificent building born of the will of Louis XIV and Colbert to build arsenals for a powerful fleet of war. The construction of the first structure began in 1666 and ended in 1669. This 374-meter long building is placed on a raft of oak beams to compensate for the instability of the marshland. Its long length is explained by the need to make cables with a cable length of 200 meters.
More information: www.corderie-royale.com / +33 (0)5 46 87 01 90
 

The Hermione-La Fayette Association

Since July 1997, the Hermione-La Fayette Association has embarked on a tremendous adventure, the reconstruction of the ship frigate Hermione, which in 1780 enabled La Fayette to join the American insurgents in their struggle for independence. Vessel over 65 meters in overall length, with a wing of 1500 m2 spread over three masts, the Hermione was built according to the plans of the engineer Chevillard Aîné. Belonging to the category of light frigates, characterized by speed and maneuverability, the Hermione was equipped with 26 cannons firing 12-pounder balls, hence its name "frigate 12". It was in 2015 that the ship returned to America, crossing the Atlantic for History in the footsteps of La Fayette with a crew of 78 people: 15 professional sailors, 56 volunteers Maneuvers (called "gabiers"), and 7 supernumeraries (technicians, journalists ...).
More information: www.hermione.com

PLAGES, FORETS
DE MULTIPLES VISAGES

AU BORD DE L'OCEAN ATLANTIQUE

 

Une région riche en découverte et en plaisirs


En mer, sur la côte ou dans les terres, la Charente-Maritime vous offre de nombreux sites de visites.
Que vous soyez amateurs d’Histoire ou de paysages grandioses, vous n’aurez que l’embarras du choix !
 
Distances :
• Saint-Georges-de-Didonne : 5 km
• Talmont-sur-Gironde : 8,7 km
• Royan : 12 km
• Zoo de la Palmyre : 25 km
• Rochefort : 50 km
• Ile d’Oléron : 50 km
• La Rochelle : 81 km
 
Partenaire de vos vacances, le Camping Les Loges 5* met à votre disposition à l’accueil tous les documents touristiques pour préparer vos sorties de vacances.
 
 
CULTURE, LOISIRS
DES SOUVENIRS MAGIQUES

DECOUVREZ ET PROFITEZ DES QUALITES DE NOTRE REGION

 

Grottes de Régulus et Matata (Meschers)


Les falaises calcaires de Meschers abritent des habitations troglodytiques et proposent un point de vue remarquable sur l’Estuaire de la Gironde. Creusées par la mer et par l’homme, ces cavités sont chargées d’histoire ! Pilleurs d’épaves, naufragés, brigands, protestants y ont souvent trouvé refuge. Suivez les pas de leurs anciens occupants et de leur vie au bord de l’Estuaire au fil d’une reconstitution remarquable !
 
Plus d’informations :
Grottes de Régulus : www.ot-meschers.fr/site-troglodytique-les-grottes-de-regulus / +33 (0)5 46 02 55 36
Grottes de Matata : www.grottesdematata.com / +33 (0)5 46 02 70 02

 
 
 

Les plages


De Meschers à Saint-Palais-sur-Mer, les plages de sable fin s’étendent sur 70 kilomètres, de quoi choisir une petite crique ou une grande conche. Chacune a son style : secrète, sauvage, urbaine ou bordée d’une forêt de pins. Ces plages familiales s'adossent aux fronts de mer des stations balnéaires. On peut y passer la journée ou prendre un bain de mer entre deux activités. Sécurisées et surveillées, elles accueillent des clubs de plage et des animations sportives pour le plaisir de tous. Profitez pleinement de ce moment privilégié qui vous permet de communier avec la nature, de bronzer et nager !
 
Le petit + : les bains de mer à l’eau salée sont très bons pour la santé alors ne vous en privez pas !
 
A Meschers :
- Plage de l’Arnèche : Accessible par le sentier littoral, entre la plage des Vergnes et la plage de Suzac, à quelques mètres du camping.
- Plage des Vergnes : Plage familiale à quelques mètres du camping. En été, le feu d’artifice part de la Couronne, un bout de falaise entouré par la mer à marée haute.
- Plage de Suzac : Plage située dans le périmètre de protection de la forêt de Suzac, qui la borde. C’est la plus grande plage de Meschers.
- Plage des Nonnes : La plage active de Meschers ! Club pour enfants, club de voile et autres activités nautiques.
- Conche de Cadet : Cachée, elle est accessible par un grand escalier. A marée haute, le sable est totalement recouvert. Accès difficile, voire interdit à certaines périodes de l’année. Panorama à couper le souffle !
 
 

Zoo de la Palmyre


Au cœur de la Côte de Beauté et des plages de la Charente-Maritime, à quelques dunes de Royan, découvrez l’un des parcs zoologiques les plus renommés d’Europe : le Zoo de la Palmyre. Fondé par Claude Caillé en 1966, ce site unique regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1600 animaux de 115 espèces différentes. Au fil des allées ombragées qui serpentent à travers 18 hectares de pinède, observez des espèces rares et apprenez à mieux les connaitre. Visiter le Zoo de La Palmyre, c'est l'assurance de passer une agréable journée dans un cadre sauvage dépaysant.
Plus d’informations : www.zoo-palmyre.fr / +33 (0)5 46 22 46 06
 

Aquarium


Situé à proximité du Vieux-Port de la ville, l’Aquarium de la Rochelle vous fera traverser les mers et les océans à la découverte de plus de 12 000 animaux marins répartis dans les 3 millions de litres d’eau de mer des 78 aquariums. Disposant d’un espace de 8 445 m², l’Aquarium de la Rochelle est l’un des plus grands d’Europe. De la crevette aux requins, admirez l’incroyable variété de la faune et de la flore sous-marine. Tout commence par un tunnel sombre, abysses peuplées de méduses, puis espèces indigènes à la région Rochelaise : crevettes, anémones, bars, requins et tortues. Le voyage continu et nous emmène aux quatre coins du globe, de la Mer Méditerranée à la mer des Caraïbes, de l'Océan Atlantique à la Mer Rouge...
Plus d’informations : www.aquarium-larochelle.com / +33 (0)5 46 34 00 00
 

Luna Park


Adrénaline, sensations, et émotions fortes sont autant de promesses qui font s'allonger les files d'attente des nombreux manèges du Luna Park de La Palmyre. Ces monstres de technologie sont devenus en quelques années les rois des fêtes foraines pour les amateurs de grands frissons.
Dans une ambiance gourmande balayée par les odeurs de guimauves, pralines, barbes à papa et autres douceurs sucrées, les petits et les familles sauront apprécier les manèges plus calmes
Plus d’informations : www.lunapark-lapalmyre.com
 
 
 
 

Royan

Station balnéaire ouverte sur l'Estuaire de la Gironde et l'océan, Royan est un lieu de villégiature réputé, depuis le 19ème siècle, pour ses plages de sable fin et son ensoleillement généreux. Royan possède bien des atouts, en particulier la qualité et la variété de son architecture avec ses villas Belle Epoque et son urbanisme des années 50, unique en Europe. Royan est une station qui bouge, avec une gamme d'activités sportives et culturelles pour toutes les générations, un institut de thalassothérapie et un casino qui vous feront passer d'agréables moments de détente, ainsi que de nombreuses manifestations tout au long de l'année.
Plus d’informations : Office de tourisme de Royan : www.royan-tourisme.com / +33(0)5 46 23 00 00
 

Talmont

La Cité médiévale de Talmont-sur-Gironde se détache sur une petite presqu'ile d'un pic rocheux. Juste après les falaises de Meschers, situé sur le chemin de Saint Jacques de Compostelle, Talmont était l'un des lieux de passage des pèlerins pour la traversée de la Gironde. L'église Sainte-Radegonde, édifiée en 1094, reste impressionnante surplombant l’Estuaire, sur un flanc de falaise. La Cité cache bien d’autres curiosités, entre petites rues et venelles colorées de ses roses trémières qui tranchent avec la blancheur des habitations.
Plus d’informations : Office de tourisme de Talmont : www.talmont-sur-gironde.fr/office-de-tourisme / +33 (0)5 46 90 16 25
 

Phare de Cordouan

Construit à l’embouchure de l’Estuaire de la Gironde, à 7 km en mer, le Phare de Cordouan, Roi des phares, phare des Rois, est à égale distance des côtes girondines et charentaises. Il est le plus ancien des phares français encore en activité. Classé monument historique dès 1862, son architecture grandiose, résultat d'une histoire longue et tourmentée, a fait de Cordouan le « Versailles de la mer », un phare unique au monde dont la visite ne peut que susciter votre émerveillement.
Plus d’informations : www.phare-de-cordouan.fr
 

Fort Boyard

Situé à mi-chemin entre les îles d’Aix et d’Oléron, Fort-Boyard a été conçu avant tout pour protéger la rade de l’île d’Aix et l’arsenal royal de Rochefort. Débutés en 1804, la construction du Fort a duré plus de 40 ans. A la fin du Second Empire, il devient prison militaire puis est laissé à l’abandon au début du 20ème siècle, proie des pillards. En 1950, il est inscrit à l’Inventaire Supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques. Acquis dans un premier temps par un particulier, il devient finalement la propriété du Conseil Général de la Charente-Maritime. Entièrement restauré, il retrouve sa splendeur avant d’être le cadre d’un jeu télévisé bien connu.
 
Le Fort Boyard n'étant pas accessible au public, profitez d'un large éventail de croisières en partance de l'île d'Oléron (Port de Saint-Denis d'Oléron ou Boyardville) pour vous rapprocher au plus près de ce majestueux vaisseau de pierre. Au travers des nombreuses balades en mer qui vous seront proposées, vous pourrez également admirer le phare de Chassiron ou faire escale sur l'île d'Aix.
Plus d’informations : Office de tourisme de l’Ile d’Oléron et du Bassin de Marennes : www.ile-oleron-marennes.com / +33(0)5 46 85 65 23
 
 

La Rochelle et ses tours

Ville chargée d’Histoire, La Rochelle impressionne avec ses deux tours médiévales qui gardent l’entrée du port. Depuis 1000 ans, La Rochelle « la rebelle » aime la différence : démocrate bien avant l’heure, elle est protestante quand la France entière est catholique ; elle se trouve protégée des rois quand le pays plie sous le poids des impôts….. Tout au long de l’Histoire, elle affiche sa différence. Aujourd’hui, elle reste un lieu de pèlerinage pour de nombreux touristes.
Plus d’informations : Office de tourisme de la Rochelle : www.larochelle-tourisme.com / +33 (0)5 46 41 14 68
 

Rochefort

Ville d'Art et d'Histoire, Rochefort présente un patrimoine maritime unique au monde avec la Corderie Royale, le Chantier de l'Hermione, les Formes de Radoubs, l'Ancienne École de Médecine navale et l'Hôpital de la Marine ou encore le Jardin des Retours. Le Musée National Maritime, installé dans l'Hôtel particulier de Cheusses, permet au visiteur d'appréhender toute cette histoire maritime. Au-dessus de la Charente, entre Rochefort et Echillais, s'élève le tout dernier Pont Transbordeur de France.
Plus d’informations : Office de tourisme de Rochefort : www.rochefort-ocean.com / +33 (0)5 46 99 08 60
 

La Corderie Royale

Un magnifique bâtiment né de la volonté de Louis XIV et de Colbert de construire des arsenaux pour une puissante flotte de guerre. La construction du premier ouvrage a commencé en 1666 pour se terminer en 1669. Ce bâtiment long de 374 mètres est posé sur un radeau de poutres de chêne pour pallier à l’instabilité du terrain marécageux. Sa grande longueur s’explique par le besoin de confectionner des cordages d’une encablure de 200 mètres.
Plus d’informations : www.corderie-royale.com / +33 (0)5 46 87 01 90
 

L'association Hermione-La Fayette

Depuis juillet 1997, l'Association Hermione-La Fayette s'est lancée dans une formidable aventure, la reconstruction de la frégate Hermione, navire, qui, en 1780, permit à La Fayette de rejoindre les insurgés américains en lutte pour leur indépendance. Navire de plus de 65 mètres de longueur hors tout, doté d'une voilure de 1500 m2 répartie sur trois mâts, l'Hermione fut construite d’après les plans de l'ingénieur Chevillard Aîné. Appartenant à la catégorie de frégates dites légères, caractérisées par leur vitesse et leur maniabilité, l'Hermione était équipée de 26 canons tirant des boulets de 12 livres, d'où son nom de « frégate de 12 ». C’est en 2015 que le navire a repris la route de l’Amérique, une traversée de l'Atlantique pour l'Histoire sur les traces de la Fayette avec un équipage composé de 78 personnes : 15 marins professionnels, 56 volontaires qui participent aux manœuvres (appelés « gabiers »), et 7 surnuméraires (techniciens, journalistes...).
Plus d’informations : www.hermione.com